Twitter is one of the most popular social media network that almost everyone uses. It’s so popular that some of your might have multiple Twitter accounts for different purposes. However, if you are looking to delete Twitter account that is not useful anymore, then you can do so easily. In this article, we are going to see a simple and official way to delete your Twitter account permanently.
If you are having any issues like missing tweets or incorrect followers counts, then deactivating your Twitter account is not going to resolve it. Also, if you want to simply change the username or email address, then you can do so by going to your Account Settings. However, if need to really delete your Twitter account permanently, then follow the steps below.
Things to Know Before Deleting Twitter Account
Before you decide to delete your Twitter account, you should know about a few things. Maybe, you have taken a wrong decision, so here are certain points that you should read before following the deletion process.
- If you want to simply change the username, email address and the Twitter URL of your profile, then there’s no need to deactivate your account as you can make the necessary changed from the Settings page in your account.
- By following the steps below, you won’t delete your account immediately. It will only be deactivated and all your data will be stored for 30 days.
- If you log in again to your account in this 30 day period, your Twitter account will be reactivated.
- However, if you don’t log in at all, then Twitter will delete all your data and information from its servers after 30 days. This will delete your Twitter account permanently.
So, if you are ready to follow the steps to deactivate your account on Twitter, then read the following section. I hope you will find it easy to understand.
How to Delete Twitter Account?
If you are using a mobile phone, then you need to find a computer to deactivate your Twitter account. For some reason, there is no method to delete your account on Twitter using a mobile phone.
Once you are on a computer, you need to follow the below steps.
Step 1: Go to twitter.com and log in to your account.
Step 2: Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the screen and then click on “Settings” button.
Step 3: Scroll all the way down and you will see a link that says “Deactivate My Account”. Click on it.
(Optional – There is a “Request Archive” button that you can use to download all your tweets and information before deactivating your account.)
Step 4: You will be redirected to the deactivation page. Read all the points before deactivating your account. Now, click on the Deactivate button.
Step 5: Finally, enter your password and hit the Deactivate button and your Twitter account will be deactivated successfully.
Read: QuickTime for PC
Your Twitter account is deactivated but not deleted permanently. If you don’t log in to your Twitter account for 30 days, then all your information and data will be deleted from the servers and your Twitter account will be deleted for good.
So, that’s how you can delete your Twitter account permanently. If you liked the article, then share it with your friends so that they too can delete Twitter account that are useless to them. If you have any queries, let us know!